Your Governor

When we are authorised as an NHS Foundation Trust we  will have 38 governors on our Council of Governors;

20 public governors
6 staff governors
12 appointed governors

Elections of public and staff governors will take place when Monitor (the regulatory body which authorises Trusts to foundation status) undertakes its assessment of the organisation.

Public governors

The Trust has divided the areas its serves into seven public constituencies. Each of these will be represented by at least one governor. The number of governor representatives allocated to each constituency has been decided by the amount of patients seen by the Trust rather than by total population in each area:

Broxbourne – 1 governor
Central Bedfordshire & Luton – 2 governors
East Hertfordshire – 2 governors
Mount Vernon Cancer Centre catchment area – 3 governors
North Hertfordshire & South Cambridgeshire – 4 governors
Stevenage – 4 governors
Welwyn Hatfield – 4 governors

Staff governors

The Trust has divided its staff groups into four categories or classes. Each of these will be represented by at least one governor.

Consultants and doctors – 2 governors
Nurses and midwives – 2 governors
Other clinical  – 1 governor
Non-clinical – 1 governor

Appointed governors

The 12 organisations below have been selected to work with the Trust as appointed governors. Each organisation will nominate a representative to sit on the Council of Governors once we are authorised as a foundation trust.

Primary care Trusts:
NHS Hertfordshire
NHS Bedfordshire

Local Authorities :
Central Bedfordshire Council
East Hertfordshire District Council
Hertfordshire County Council
North Hertfordshire District Council
Stevenage Borough Council
Welwyn Hatfield Borough Council

Partnership organisations:
University of Hertfordshire
Stevenage World Forum
Hertfordshire Chamber of Commerce
Hertfordshire CVS ( Council of Voluntary Services) Group