Student Programme

Increasingly, universities and medical schools are asking for students with prolonged experience in their chosen field before they apply, including a couple of days work experience. But how do you know you want to be a doctor, midwife or nurse until you have tried it?

Our aim is to show the reality of working in a busy NHS acute hospital. Our staff have a wealth of knowledge, and there is always something to do and plenty to learn. 

The programme is for students aged 16 to 18, in full-time education and working towards a career in medicine, adult nursing or midwifery. 

We have received some great feedback from past students – here’s a selection: 

“Thank you so much for my placement. It has been an amazing experience, and it has pushed me to work hard and become a midwife.”

“I started an apprenticeship in September on the children’s day surgery ward. The programme has put me on the right path for my career – thank you so much for all your help!

“Thank you for the opportunity to volunteer! It has been very useful for my university application and it was a great experience.” 

Student programme

To find out what’s involved and how to apply, please download the appropriate information sheet.

Applications can only be considered when we receive them between 7.00 and 8.00am on the dates listed below. Forms received outside these times will not be considered. Please read the guidance notes before apply. 

Please note that each application date has a corresponding induction date. Successful applicants will be expected to attend the induction on this date. These dates are not inter-changeable. All inductions take place at Lister hospital.
Application date for 2018 (7.00 to 8.00am) Induction date 2018 (3.30 to 6.30pm)
Tuesday 2 January Friday 5 January
Monday 5 February Friday 9 February
Monday 5 March  Thursday 8 March
Tuesday 3 April Friday 6 April
Tuesday 1 May Friday 4 May
Monday 2 July Friday 6 July
Monday 6 August Thursday 9 August
Monday 3 September Friday 7 September
Monday 1 October Friday 5 October
Monday 5 November Thursday 8 November
Monday 3 December  Friday 7 December 

Useful Info

Values

Our organisational values extend to our student programme and you will see how they fit in with the day to day operation of the hospital.

Our core values are:

  • We put our patients first
  • We strive for improvement
  • We value everybody
  • We are open and honest
  • We work as a team